Video
0

What Islam Means To Me

Video repost from Sister Sara Kuratnik, the winner of Quran Weekly’s Pre-Ramadan video contest & a brand new iPad Mini!

when I was 8 years old my friends asked me why I didn’t eat pork
I didn’t hesitate in saying what I knew was true, it was against my religion
To the understanding that God would care what you ate?
They didn’t get it..
But that didn’t matter, we were eight..

But the questions became hard and my circle of friends became small..

“Why are your parents so straight?”
“Why can’t you date?”
“What’s the big deal if you lie?”…

Questions that I did not know how to answer,
At the time became like ticking a walk through a field of mines
Every step that I took I expected and EXPLOTION!
A force field of humanity as the laughed, until they cried..
It was against my religion,
But that didn’t matter anymore, we weren’t eight..
Now we had opinions and free will, The ability to do whatever we wanted!

Parents were like policeman, you’d run as fast as you could, and then you’d hide
Teachers who kept secret..
And bad..bad friends were on your side

I JUST WANTED TO BE NORMAL

Oddly enough I’d still never was, and then it started…..
I tracked of Surah Yaasin became the backdrop to all my Bus rides
I didn’t understand a word. I didn’t understand why I cried
I didn’t know why I couldn’t sleep no matter how hard I tried
Nothing was normal anymore..

So to me islam is not just a submission
A religion, a set of rules on how to behave
THESE are words, terms, that we have not learned to love
And if you call this islam then you have a lot to explain
To the ones who come to Him through agony and pain
To the ones who come to Him through having lived life in vain
To the ones who come to Him through seeking real change
And to the ones who come to Him knowing there is nothing to gain in this world

ISLAM to me is PURPOSE
Knowing that you have a place you belong
Beyond critics and mean teens
Eating disorders and drama queen
Beyond the life of chasing money and fame
Beyond the desire to fulfill desires there is a POINT
AND IT IS.. YOU
YOU who never sleeps
Who gives without requests
YOU who allows failures to finish at their bests
YOU who despite falsehood and lies are an eternal truth known to all who are wise enough to know
That the most beautiful thing in this world
The most beautiful things in ISLAM,
Is to know YOU…..

Sister Sara K.

Leave a Reply

